Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice?
Ive mentioned before that I am new to fly fishing this year. I started in Feb or so. The first couple of times were tough since I am learning almost exclusively from reading BFT and visiting every fly shop within fifty miles of Salt Lake. I am really enjoying it and I am able to go at least a couple of times a week. Because I am able to fish pretty often I figured out a way to become fairly successful. I have found four or five spots on the lower Provo and four or five spots on the lower Weber where I am able to catch fish (until recently between five and fifteen in a couple of hours) nothing exceptional I know but usually not worried about a skunk.

The problem is, since the water has risen and the flows have increased on my two favorite rivers I have settled back into catching no more than two fish and often less. I am assuming I need to try a different technique, flys, and spots/rivers until the flows get back to where they were a few weeks ago. I am assuming they will go back but I honestly have no idea.

Can anyone tell me what I should try now and what I should expect in the summer and fall?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,
[signature]
me personally i love high water. drives folks to the local lakes. ill take my 7 weight out and throw gigantic streamers. if you want to use nymphs use something huge as a stimulator, and alot of weight.

you can also get into still water fishing which is a blast:

[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/Utah_Fishing_Forum_C55/Utah_Fly_Fishing_F140/gforum.cgi?post=741337;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;page=unread#unread"]http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/Utah_Fishing_Forum_C55/Utah_Fly_Fishing_F140/gforum.cgi?post=741337;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;page=unread#unread[/url]

when the fall comes, i like to walk the grassy banks with hoppers!