Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Willard bay newbie seeking a guide?
Howdy,

I am new to Utah and am looking to catch some walleye. I read there are some in Willard bay but I do not have a boat. I have basic spincast tackle. Not sure if you can shore fish successfully for walleye. Would anyone happen to have room on their boat or a boat for rent? Also, advice to get started like tackle and technique is also appreciated.

The wipers sound fun too.
[signature]
stop at Smith & Edwards, get ya some 1/8 oz gig heads (orange) a pack of chartreuse grub tails and a pack of white grubs and just walk along the north west dike and cast along the rocky shore line. bump the rocks with the gig as you real it back to ya . try fishing a hour before dark..
[signature]
I just got a boat this year and have been fishing there quite a bit, I'm not an expert but I have managed to catch quite a few walleye. I should have some room in the boat if you want to tag along sometime. Shoot me a pm!
[signature]
Couldn't find orange jig head in town. S&E was closed. Tried a variety of jigs, spinners, crank-baits. I caught one Crappie on a worm and bobber. My wife got a Crappie and a small Wiper. We didn't move too far down the dyke tho. Stayed out till 12:30am.
[signature]
Try using a bleeding shad rattle trap, or other lipless crank baits and just cast them along the rocks. We had awesome last time using them.
[signature]