Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
what am I doing wrong?
Im still relatively new to fresh water fishing (used to saltwater from shore and boat).
I took my son cat-fishing several times at lake ontelaunee at night. We see the success that others are having and we cant figure out what were doing wrong.
We tried gulp baits (all flavors) and never get a nipple.
We tried chicken livers and size 2 treble and single catfish hooks and we get tugs all the time but were never able to hook anything.
Now weve tried covering the hook, leaving a little exposed , wrapping a little thread around to hold the livers on (that works very well btw). Weve tried to set when we feel tugs, letting um nibble a bit and every other method we can read up on.
Can anyone give us a clue as to what we can be doing wrong?
[signature]
buy a block of extra sharp cheddar cheese and form little balls of it to fish with. Make sure your fishing it close to if not on the bottom. I like to fish with a 3 way swivel with a foot of line for the weight side and a foot of line for the bait side of the swivel. Sounds like your night fishing. I like to take a bobber and drill a hole in it and but some bbs in it and attatch it to the tip of the line. when you hear it, its time to set the hook. This is my go to setup. Hope it helps.
[signature]
google "carolina rig" and "Santee-cooper rigs". both of these work well when catfishing. I like the carolina rig with a 5/0 ish circle hook. but pretty much anything will work. The advantage of the sliding sinker rig is the fish won't feel the weight when they take the bait and turn and run. the circle hook will set itself as the fish turns, and viola, fish fry time.....