Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scadden Renegade and a Spin Fisherman
Thought I would try to give a little different perspective on using the Renegade. I'm a veteran with many decades of spin fishing experience. I have a couple of small boats...a 9 foot Klamath that I use with a battery and an electric motor, and a 12 foot boat that I use with a small gas motor. I've had round float tubes, and a Fish Cat 4 Deluxe (which I really like).

I bought the Renegade because I wanted a light pontoon that I could launch almost anyplace. I loved the idea of oars...to cover more water, fish the other side of the lake, etc. without having to use a motor and battery.

I purchased the Renegade this spring, and have used it about 10 times. I fish with it the following ways:

1. Rowing and trolling, mostly with Kastmasters and Dardevles. I love to seek out fish this way.

2. Finding fish in an area and fan casting.

3. Dropping the anchor and bait fishing (power bait, worms, or salmon eggs.

I love rowing the Renegade. I really like the bags. They can carry a lot of gear and don't get in my way while I row. I have only used it on stillwater so far. The standard oars have been fine. The pontoon is so light that I can row long distances and not get tired. I have even had to row against strong winds (at least 30 mph) and it hasn't been much of a problem. I may upgrade the oars someday, but I'm not sure that is necessary.

Fins or no fins? I have a pair of the Omega fins that I use with the Fish Cat. They are great when they are the only propulsion (no oars). I don't use them with the Renegade, though because they are very long and too difficult to get onto the foot rest bar. So I use an old, short pair of Caddis fins with the Renegade. I move the pontoon with the oars and just use the fins to turn slightly left or right. The Caddis fins are fine for this purpose.