Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Favorite spinning rod
I'm a true novice compared to most of you, and I've always purchased cheap rods for my spinning reels like the Whoopin Stick or Ugly Stick. After reading many of your posts here I decided to buy myself a Pflueger President reel, and now I'd like to find a nice rod to put it on for Xmas to me. I plan to use it from the toon and would like a good feel for what the lure is doing but still able to let line out and troll light tackle when I get lazy. I like the feel of the split grips but imagine they are tougher to use on a toon.

Any advice? What do you guys/gals like to use?
[signature]
I have a fenwick that I got a good deal on at sportsmans and I like it enough, it has good sensitivity and not too expensive, have one loomis that I love. Basically you get what you pay for. The cheaper rods aren't bad tho, I still have the first rod I bought for myself a few years ago(mitchel combo at wally world). I'm sure any rod you spend more money on will be a good rod IMO.
[signature]
My 2 choices would be a
Fenwick 1pc hmg 6ft6 mh or a abu garcia veritas 1pc 7ft mh
These rods can handle panfish to bass and will last a long time if cared for..
[signature]
GLoomis, any one.
[signature]
Honestly i have owned expensive rods and the only really noticeable difference to me is I tend to get ALOT more Angry when I accidentally shut an expensive one in the tailgate or shut in a door. nice reels are a big deal to me that really the functioning part of your rig. but for me... I have a fine collection of ugly sticks ranging from ultra light to medium heavy. and its no problem for me to be successful catching the little pan fish and perch to wipers and even a few macs here and there (just gotta grab the right rod)