Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Power Augers
I know this subject has been previously covered, but what are the opinions on the currently available power augers. Thanks in advance.
[signature]
That is almost like asking what is better, Ford, Dodge, or Chevrolet. But with that said, Strikemaster is one of the better ones out there. I have one that has got to be getting near its life-expectancy. Try 24 years old and still running/cutting great.
[signature]
+1. Mine is pushing 25 and still runs great. I just replaced the blade last year and think I'm gonna have to rebuild the carb after this season. Only other thing I've done was to clean out & re-lub the gearcase last year too. Just did that 'cause I thought it might be a good idea.
[signature]
I have a strike master auger and have had great luck with it always starts and its seven years old. Its a 10 inch auger with a single blade and it will drill twice as a double blade Laser.
[signature]
If you go up to Montana/ North Dakota/ Minnesota etc you will see a very large percentage of the anglers using Jiffy and Strikemaster. I do not think this is a coincidence. I had an eskimo for one season and now I am back to Jiffy. If I were buying today I would get the Propane Jiffy or the four stroke jiffy or strikemaster.

Jigga
[signature]
Don't count out electric power either. This year I got a new Li-Ion Dewalt cordless drill ($250 DCD985L2[url "http://www.dewalt.com/tools/cordless-drills-hammerdrills-dcd985l2.aspx"][/url]) and paired it up with a $80 6" Strikemaster Lazer and a $25 adapter off eBay. With the 3Ah batteries I can cut a hole through 12inches of ice in about 2 seconds. The cold doesn't seam to affect the Li-Ion batteries like the way it killed the old NiCads. I always bring a spare battery, but I haven't needed it yet in 4 trips. I move around a lot and drill a lot of holes, probably 25 or more per trip.