Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Balanced Peacock Damsel
This is a damsel variation that I have been tying. This weighted "balanced" version is based on the technique used in Phil Rowley's Balanced Leech.

The fly uses a jig hook and a bead on a pin head.. It is great wind drifted under an indicator or fished slow on a floating line. I like it tied on a regular hook also with just a bead head. Something about peacock..... gotta love the stuff.

This one I tied with a red bead. I haven't tried this red version yet.
[inline BalPeaDam.jpg]
[signature]
I have been using the off set bead for a few years
http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/gforu...ad;#282472

I think that is what got me interested in tying the small Jig hooks with Haresears, Princes, Copper Johns, etc
[signature]
Where is a good place on-line that has a assortment of those hooks? I have been trying to find them but can't find any collarless heads that are in the 18-14 sizes.
[signature]
I get mine at Roger's at Portneuf River Outfitters in Pocatello or Jimmy's All Season in Idaho Falls, but, I think I got some at Cabela's

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Fly-Tying...QgodkgoAag
[signature]
Thanks for the help. I have seen the ones on Cabelas website. Pretty much the only ones I have been able to find. I am looking for the 1/64, 1/80, but in smaller hooks. Size 10 seems to be the size. Unfortunately your other 2 references don't have much for on-line sales.
[signature]
The last package I bought might have been Fish Tech. They are more like a #12 which is my favorite size in most nymphs. Try giving them a call.

The other choice however, is the off set idea. Hook of choice, straight pin and a bead.
[signature]
If you want a blank jig hook, to use with a straight pin and bead of your choice, then just search for jig hook at places like Cabela's . Most are larger though, so you can try bending your own or just using a down-eyed hook.
[signature]