Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Report -Catch A Cure for Cancer, Starvation
BFT friends,
I just returned from spending a few days at Starvation to fish in and support Camp Hobe through the Catch a Cure for Cancer annual charity tournament.
My partner, Chad Miller and I have been supporting this charity for the last 4 years. This year it became much more personal to me as my mother was diagnosed with appendix cancer last winter and one of my nearest and dearest friends has a beautiful 17 year old daughter that was diagnosed with ASL Lukemia about 6 weeks ago. She has been undergoing a just brutal weekly chemo treatment regime ever since.
Camp Hobe supports children with cancer and their siblings by providing a summer camp they can go to free of charge. For many this is such a wonderful opportunity for the family to have a break from the just brutal emotional grind that they are constantly going through. The Catch A Cure tournament has raised over $100k to support this.
I realize now that it is just as tough on the families as it is on the individual. There is alot more to it than just getting some chemo. It's all the terrible side affects of the chemo and the other drugs such as hi level steroids, etc. The constant fear of an infection that the body cannot fight as the immune system is almost non existent.

This year's tournament was even more melancholy for me this year as this would be the last time Chad Miller and I would fish a Utah tournament together as he will be moving to Denver in a couple weeks.

We arrived at Starvation on Thursday to start pre-fishing. The last couple years Chad and I have enjoyed pre-fishing alone in our own boats so that we can cover more water and work different techniques. We meet up on the water often to discuss or communicate through texts so we're updated on what each other is finding.