Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Floating Grand Mesa, Colorado.
Reading some other’s reports had me craving some brook trout. So, off I went on my merry way to look for some. This is my first year extensively fishing the Grand Mesa. Many anglers are tight lipped and many just don’t know, thus I am in the exploring stage. The mountain is enormous. Most lakes with quality fish are off the beaten path. I chose a lake that has special regulations on it. This coupled with the chance at brookies, grayling, and cutthroat inspired me to bring the tube along.

[Image: 9293995722_7d3c73a210_z.jpg]

I was a little surprised to see a large group of fisherman already at the lake. They were lined up along the shore that I so wanted to fish the most. There were a couple other guys floating as well. So much for getting away from the crowds…but the fishing wasn’t too bad. Found them quickly.

[Image: 9294417828_f307099a1d_z.jpg]

[Image: 9293993288_0200ac23c7_z.jpg]

Lots and lots of cutthroat. I spent the entire trip looking, hoping, and praying for a brook trout, but it didn’t happen. Well I found a nice cutty lake nonetheless. I was also tickled to catch a couple of these, although one was very camera shy.

[Image: 9293988234_0ec0d7fb0f_z.jpg]

My fishing in these high country lakes consists of marabou jigs 99% of the time. You can see from the picture copper was the go to color today (Thanks TubeDude). The fish were right off the bottom, so the jigs really did nice. They were so aggressive that I let my second rod just dangle a jig about 15' below my tube. Many fish took that jig too.

[Image: 9293992144_f012ff509f_z.jpg]

I noticed a lot of my fellow fishermen were not having as good of luck with their fly rods.

Now for a little rant. Here is some dialogue with another angler. This is why I often prefer fish to people…why I desire remote locations.

As I was unhooking a lil’ cutthroat a guy on a tube near me mumbled (pretty loudly)
“$%#@ bait fisherman”.