Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginner Muskie Fishing Setup
Hey guys!

New to the forum here. Looked around and looks like you're all a knowledgeable and nice group of people!

Really got into fishing this summer and don't have the best gear but it's still fun to me! Caught my biggest fish the other day, 5lb 19 inch large mouth bass. I was out tonight and I saw a few people, including one friend, muskie fishing with big suckers. Hooked three within 2 hours and they were huge Tiger Muskies.

After seeing this it looked like a lot of fun so I want to invest in a new and first muskie rod/reel set up but I have no idea where to start or what to look for. I'm a college student so money is tight and I want to try and purchase the set up for right around 150 if possible.

I've looked around some and always find Ugly Sticks coming up quite a bit for a nice but cheap rod. Any others?

As for a reel I've read a lot about an Abu Garcia C3 i think? Like I said I have no idea why or what's special about either of these but just from what I've read and researched so far.

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks much in advance!
~DanOpi
[signature]
Never muskie fish, but the combo you noted with the Ugly Stick and the C3 or C4 should be fine. That rig can handle large fish and it will give you plenty of line capacity. I'm sure someone will jump in soon with Muskie fishing experience and provide better support. There may be something better suited for the job.
[signature]
$150 budget will hinder you, but if it was me buy a shimano cardiff 300 load it up with 50-80# braid and get a 7'6-8'6 h-xh rod so you can cast muskie sized lures. Muskie fishin is an expensive hobby but they are worth every penny!!! I have some lures if you needed to buy any or h ave any more questions feel free to pm me! i would be willing to help in any way i can