Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strawberry 9/7/13
N.E.T.O. and I fished Strawberry yesterday. There was a slight breeze for the first hour or so, then it died down and it was dead calm until about 2:30 PM, when the storms started blowing through.

First stop we each had one hit and that was it. Moved to where Randy had found them a couple weeks earlier. Catching was steady but not super fast for the next couple hours. Moved about 300 feet and the catching picked up. Left the water around 5:30 PM with Randy having landed 51 cutts and 1 rainbow. I landed around 40 cutts. All cutts were within the slot. I missed far too many bites and started hooking more fish when I switched to smaller hooks.

Most fish were caught vertically jigging and the rest were caught casting and bouncing back to the boat.

After running out of cut-bait I tried some Berkley night crawlers that I had been carrying about for a few years. I put on half of a make-believe crawler on my jig and made a cast. Bounced it off of the bottom a couple times and got aggressive strikes. On the next three casts I also got aggressive hits. I must have made a dozen or more casts after that without a single hit.
[signature]
Seemes like a good session on the berry. Nice work on the cutts, maybe next time you will get the slot buster that I am sure you were after this time around.

No pics?

Did NETO out fish you again?[:p]
[signature]
Nice report Kent, sounds like the good catching has finally returned. From most of the reports I've read this year, jiggers have not done as well as in the past. Did you notice what the water temp was?
[signature]
I thought you had the franchise on picture taking for BFT. You do such a good job with your pictures.

I let Randy out catch me every once in awhile so that he doesn't get too discouraged and quit fishing with me.
[signature]
[quote wiperhunter2]

Did you notice what the water temp was?

[/quote]