Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bonus points help?
I was an active member of the Utah hunting and fishing community and BFT until 4.5 years ago when I left for military service. I am still a Utah Resident and pay state taxes there but don't have the opportunity to return to hunt elk as I did each year while living there. I am stationed in VA and spend a lot of time working and over seas. Last time I checked, in order to draw bonus points in Utah you have to buy a hunting license. It didn't used to be that way, you could just pay the 5 dollar fee for applying for a point. Since military members (that are Utah residents) have limited opportunities to return and hunt, the state should allow them to apply for bonus points without having to pay for the license they cant use. Utah DWR should allow active duty military stationed outside Utah to apply for points without purchasing a license or rebate the cost of the license if it is mailed to them before the season. I have contacted my representative at the state capitol and the DWR about this but no one takes any interest in it other than saying thank you for your concern. Does any one here have contacts or know the best avenue to implement this change for our military members?

Thank you for your help.

Good hunting!
[signature]