Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Steel line fishing for lake trout
So we are getting ready for the ice to be gone and back in the boat. We go to the gorge a lot and I always here about fishing for macs with steel line. I am wondering what you have to use to troll for them with steel line I have always used my down riggers.

what rods, reels, type of wire line, advantage and diSadvantage, how you rig it up, lures and can you use a down rigger to drag the bottom?

Sorry for all the questions I am new to this and would like to try it. Thanks
[signature]
I really never target lake trout, but if I did, I would jig for them with 8lb. test line max. I guess if you're releasing them it really doesn't matter, but I hate trolling and jigging with light line just seems much more sporting.
Sorry I didn't help with your question.
[signature]
My steel line set up is a penn 309 reel with a tiger off shore rod with a rooller tiip guide on the reel I have 800ft of line and have a leader of 50lb test line the advantage is you see the bite sooner cauuse there's no strech to the line down side you have to have a lot of line out to get down deep but you get to feel the whole fiight just takes a while to reel in all that line as far as lures use the normal lures you would for trolling for lake trout and for line I would find single strand steel line the multi strand line doesn't have the same feel and takes longer to sink if you have any more questions let me know
[signature]
[font "Times New Roman"][size 3]I also use Penn Level Wind Reels (209M/309M) with braided Powerpro line on a whuppin stick trolling rod (Cabela's).