Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Landing big fish through the ice?
On the North Carolina board there is a great instruction on how to land big fish, but what do you do when those fish have to come through the ice. Already this year I've lost two nice fish because I wasn't able to get them through the hole! (One was a monster...the other was just really nice.)

Any tips on an effective way to handle these situations. I've been icefishing for a few years now and have yet to find a great technique. I like to use 4# test while icefishing (a lot of other fishing too actually), so it's trick lifting those lunkers out of the hole! I think that I am also handicapped by fishing in an ice tent. It's makes it even more tricky when there is such little space to move in.
[signature]
First off let me know where you are fishing to get such big fish that they are hard to lift up through the ice. Second make sure you have your drag set to the right setting. My brother lost several fish last Saturdat at Scofield because he didn't have his drag set. He had his line break twice and then one of the fish straightened the hook he was using. I would have loved to have seen that fish. Also, don't be afraid to let your pole bend, that is what they are made for. In my limited experience I have lost more fish trying to get their heads up into the hole than I have actually lifting them that final bit onto the ice. Once their heads are into the hole they can only slide straight back down and that is when people put too much tension on the line and have the line snap or lose the hook. I have heard of people using a gaff (? spelling and proper word?) to get the fish once they are in the hole. I have never used one or had the need but I would love to catch a fish big enough through the ice to have the need to use something like that to actually get it up.