Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1978 UL record cat
Had to share a pic posted by Utah Division of Wildlife Resources. Leroy Mortensen shows the catfish he caught from Utah Lake in 1978. The 32-pound, 8-ounce fish is still the state's channel catfish record.
[signature]
Yeah i have been chasing that record for many years, ive come close but its alwa2lbs off, someday,, someday...... ill get it lol
[signature]
And they have been chasing Birds

[url "http://youtu.be/_R5O7nLzdwY"]http://youtu.be/_R5O7nLzdwY[/url]
[signature]
that cat doesn't look 40 inches........ dare to compare

southern exaggeration ..... jk

There are larger ones out there.... just a matter of time before i land one.....
[signature]
Sethook -- You're right that cat was not 40 inches long it was actually (officially) measured at 39 3/4 inches and is officially recognized as the state record taken from Utah Lake.... Utah Lake being in the southern part of the state.

I've been chasing that record for a few years now and have never gotten closer than six inches shy. That will change this year. I've got 'em figger'd out and just need the time to get after 'em. Can't do on UL with the wind and cold the way it has been lately. Temps on UL have never gotten above 48-9 degrees yet. I guess they still need to eat but if you can't get to 'em you can't ketch 'em.

You're lucky to have shallow water to fish up north. And, I have to admit, you have posted up some good ones already. Time is on the side of the south. We will eventually get those 60+ temps and then the 30+ cats will follow.

Good luck to ya..... up to about 30 inches.

BLK
[signature]
That video was totally cool! Makes me wonder how many ducks and other fowl end up in the gullets of catfish. It got me thinking about using some of these annoying potguts that are starting to show up all over my yard!
[signature]