Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wanting to learn
My in-laws gave me some pretty nice fly fishing gear, at least I think it's nice gear (mostly Orvis), when I graduated from the U ten years ago. I figure it's time I learn how to use it.

I'm wondering what recommendations you all have for a newbie wanting to learn. Is there a series of videos, or some good books to read, etc. Something with pictures of different flies and which ones tend to work best at different times of the year.

Thanks for any info/help that you're willing to share.
[signature]
I suggest at first youtube fly casting so you can get an idea of the casting motion and some of the mechanics,

second hire a guide even if its only for a half day. A guide will be able to answer any question you might have and correct any mis-proper techniques side note if you hire a guide ask them if you can take a picture of the flies there using (guides have some super secret flies you wont find on any website )[cool] )

Lastly Practice Practice Practice, pratice in your back yard or at park on the grass try not to cast on asphalt or concrete it will tear up you fly line.

Oh and ask you guide how he reads the river how he finds eddies and rifts ( basically were fish might be holding at )
[signature]
Tons of Youtubes. Most the Fly shops around here have casting classes and at pretty fair prices. Check Sportsmans, Cabela's and Scheels.
You can learn to rig up here, such as leaders and tippet, even flies. But, need to know if you plan on stillwater and if so, from shore or from boat. Or River/streams. Some flies are universal, but most stillwater flies are different than moving during the year.
Assuming you have floating line, it can work fine on both. As the lakes cool, fish do come closer.
As for casting, Classes. It is hard to learn to haul, and double haul on your own. False casting your arm should travel a straight line like painting the underside of a shelf. Keep wrist straight.