Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Be sharp...stay sharp
[size 3][font "Times New Roman"] [size 1]There’s been some recent posts on auger blades. Also been some discussion on filleting and using sharp knives for cutting perch strips. That got Tomegun to PM me that he was not allowed around sharp things (sharp wit excluded). He did acknowledge that he needed to acquire and maintain a sharp knife.[/size][/font][/size]

[font "Times New Roman"][size 1] There is no other recreational pursuit that requires having a sharp knife, more than fishing. Yeah, you need good knives for hunting, but you use them less. Anglers are always cutting something, and sharp knives make the job easier and safer. Most accidental cuts are the result of having to apply too much pressure to dull knives.[/size][/font]

[font "Times New Roman"][size 1] My fishing family in Idaho taught me young that you needed a good knife and that you should learn how to sharpen and care for it. In later years, I worked as a fishing guide, a commercial fisherman and as a deckhand on party boats in California. Collecting, using and maintaining sharp knives has always been a big thing with me.[/size][/font]

[font "Times New Roman"][size 1] There are some fishing knives that have a serviceable edge right out of the store. Rapalas are pretty good to use without much touch-up. Most of the knives I buy are not put into use until I work them over with my sharpening tools for awhile. I first make sure the edge is a thin taper, rather than a sharp “wedge” angle. This sometimes takes awhile with a diamond sharpener or a good rough stone. It also requires that you maintain a constant angle while you stroke the knife across the sharpening surface.[/size][/font]