Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ice cats?
I have fished Bountiful pond in Summer & Fall & gotten some big cats (5-7) lbs. Has anyone ever fished this pond in winter, does it ice up?
[signature]
Nope, I haven't fished it in the winter. Heck I didn't even know it was there until this summer and I've lived in Utah for 24 years now! But I wouldn't mind pulling one of those kitties out for the IFG challenge! Anyone know how to do it?

I bet TD will have a comment of two for us.
[signature]
In my years of ice fishing I have seen only 1 cat come through the ice,it was first ice. I think you might be trying to catch hybernating fish.
[signature]
[cool][size 1]Hey guys, I have no experience on Bountiful Pond, but I can verify that channel cats do remain somewhat active under the ice...and they do gotta eat once in awhile.[/size]

[size 1]I have seen several cats come through the ice on Utah Lake, Yuba and Willard Bay. Virtually all were taken on bait-tipped jigs being fished on or near the bottom for walleyes...or perch...or white bass.[/size]

[size 1]One day in early January, in the north marina of Willard, one guy caught a half dozen channels using a small green tube jig and a piece of crawler. I am guessing he was dropping into a small depression in the bottom in which the kitties had gathered.[/size]

[size 1]I have also read several articles in national fishing magazines about guys in the upper midwest who specifically target cats through the ice. They have their spots marked from years before and catch lots of BIG cats. The word is that they do school up in the winter and if you find their living room you can catch a few.[/size]

[size 1]If Bountiful freezes over, you will need to take the sonar and scout out some depressions...hopefully with some large fish marks on the sonar...right on the bottom. It takes a good sonar to read fish that are not well separated from the bottom contours. [/size]