Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bear Lake Whitefish
I may find myself up at Bear Lake this weekend. With the whitefish run going on I thought I might see if I could hook some up on the fly. I have never done this before and was wondering if anyone had some advice on fly choice and what type of line to use (floating or sinking). Thanks for any advice you can pass along.
[signature]
[#0000FF]The active fish are generally less than 10-12 feet deep...and usually less. This past week they have been caught by casting in toward shore and working out deeper until the right depth was found and then fishing parallel to shore at that depth. Most days around 7-9 feet is a good depth to work.

Whitefish are not like trout...and will not come up in the water column very far to take a fly. You need to keep it within a few inches of the bottom. That requires either a medium sink line or at least a good sink tip. Also might help to take some flies with a bit of weight added...to keep them down during a retrieve.

Early in the morning (low light) or when it is cloudy you will often do better with dark patterns...black, purple, etc...especially with a bit of silver glitter in them. During brighter light conditions go with white patterns...again with some sparkly stuff.

These fish seem to be motivated by their olfactory senses and respond best to lures with a piece of worm. Makes it harder to catch them on plain jigs or flies. But with the right slow twitch retrieve you can get bit on flies.

Best spot to work a fly would probably be off second point. The bottom contour is less severe there and you can work a larger area without being out of range. Off Cisco beach the bottom drops sharply into deeper water. At second point you can find some relatively flat areas with the cobble bottom the whitefish prefer.