Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strawberry Splake or Brook?
I did not have anything to do with this catch, I don't even know these people. Strawberry Marina posted this pic on their Facebook page and it made me super curious. I'm not an expert by any means, but I was under the impression that Strawberry on held cutts, rainbows, Kokanee, and maybe the occasional brown that comes in from Currant Creek.

Can anybody with more knowledge than me help lend an explanation to this picture? It appears to be a Splake or Brook on the left.

I've also heard of people catching small mouth there, can anyone verify that?
[signature]
[#0000FF]Your picture did not show up so can't verify for sure. Is it possible you checked the "inline" box without doing the rest of what is necessary to make the picture appear in your post. If so, just uncheck the inline box and we can look at the attachment.

I can tell you that there used to be more than a few brookies in Strawberry. Not out of the question that a few survived in some of the feeder creeks over the years...or got accidentally mixed into a hatchery planting.

There are also a few stray browns and a few tigers that show up once in a while.

And yes, there have been smallmouths caught from Strawberry. They are doubtless plants by bucket bozos. And they will never take over the lake because it is not hospitable to smallmouths. The growing season and food supply situation makes it tough for them to survive past their first year.
[/#0000FF]
[signature]
Where's the pic?
[signature]
Trying the pic again. Sorry about that I'm trying to do it from my phone.
[signature]
Looks like a splake to me.

A brook would have red belly right??
[signature]
I've caught a few brooks without all the flashy colors, but again I'm no expert. I just like reeling in the slimy buggers. Hahaha
[signature]