Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Brand new angler
I am brand new to this sport. I bought a rod and reel, but when I try to spool line onto the reel it explodes off at the least bit of slack causing a tangled mess. What am I doing wrong? Help.<br><br>
I had the same problem when I got a new reel about 35 years ago. Let me try to remember how I fixed it. OK I got it now. When installing new line to a reel hold the rod 3-6" infront of the reel , place the line inbetween your thumb and finger with a light drag. Crank on the line keeping a light drag on the line. This gets the line on in short order and it will be fine. One point to remember: do not install more line than the reel specks calls for as you will have lots of problems when you try to cast it. You will again get what I call "the spider web tangles" The bigest help I can give you is "PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE" <br>I hope this will help you. And by the way: Welcome to the wonderful world of fishing. <br><br>Texas gulf cost fisher.
<B>ssor scores!</B><br><br>I like to put a pencil through the hole of the spool kick back on the lazy boy run the line through the first loop then in to the reel.<br><br>As ssor says don’t fill above a 1/16-inch below the level of your spool.<br>Another good tip to be added to the tip of the day for Ice Fishing.<br><br><br><br><A HREF="http://myweb.ecomplanet.com/MESS6438/" target="_new">http://myweb.ecomplanet.com/MESS6438/</A> <br>Lookie See what the kids are up to.<br>Dave T. Clown