Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Kayak Fishing / Introduction
Hi guys, I'm new to kayak fishing, used to surf fish the coast of california, moved here and last year been fishing the urban ponds until I got bored. Last month I bought a kayak and started fishing crawdad cove with little luck. I also troll crankbaits and lipless and always end up with a good workout but no fish. I tried launching to the gov't wash but I have no confidence w my 2wd truck so I'm sticking at crawdad. I will post my catch soon if I can get a decent one, Meanwhile any tips will be appreciated. techniques and rigs I want to learn, thanks.

My stepson is 11 and I also got him a kayak hoping to catch his first fish.
[signature]
[cool]Welcome to the board. Lipless cranks work good all over the lake. Get out early or go in late afternoon/evening and look for boils. Also invest in a cast net to catch shad in some of the coves. This is candy bait like squid is to yellowtails. Nothing beats time on the water. There are some nice coves around crawdad and boxcar. I usually launch from government and sometimes paddle around sand island and hit the large bay before crawdad. Also try flukes on a scrounger head.
Good luck.
[signature]
Check with Shogunoftgecity he has an ocean kyack background.
Also check his Facebook page too.
[signature]
Thanks for the quick reply, I actually have a castnet, I am still practicing how to use it. 😁 Looks easy on youtube but doing in on top of a kayak is a challenge for me.

The scrounger is new to me, I will get it soon and pair w a fluke. I did use fluke weightless last week but no hits. As It took me an hour to get to mead, I always spent long hours there, at one point we camp overnight and fish before sunrise, I could see stripers chasing baits but I only hook one small bass. I never saw anyone in a kayak yet but then again been there only 3 times, this thursday will be 4th and hope to be more lucky 😆😆😆 I'll post pic soon.
[signature]