Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bear lake Mack color phases
I have been fishing Bear lake for several years now and have noticed something that I would like to know more about. The lake trout that I catch sometimes are totally different color some are very light and some are darker like the ones from the gorge. I have been told that there are different types of Lakers in Bear lake and wanted some of the more seasoned fisherman's opinion about it. I'm hoping Scott chimes in and let's us in on his knowledge as well. I am including two photos of recent fish that I have caught in the last few weeks that look totally different.
[signature]
I can't give any specifics on Bear Lake. But, any trout can vary greatly in color -- even trout from the same water.

One thing that can cause fish coloration to vary greatly is diet. A diet high in carotenoids (ie: crustaceans) will produce vibrant colors both on the outside of the fish and in the flesh. Think about flamingos. The reason a flamingo is pink is due to their diet which consists almost entirely of shrimp and other crustaceans high in carotenoids. If you take this diet away from a flamingo, they would turn pale, almost white. Fish are the same.

These changes can happen rather quickly too. A fish may make a temporary change in diet which results in color changes rather quickly.

Boulder Mountain is pretty famous for the coloration of the brook trout and cutthroat trout. This is due to the numerous amphipods (freshwater shrimp) found in those waters.

Fish Lake also has very vibrantly colored splake and lake trout. This can also be attributed to a diet that includes mysis shrimp.

I know that Bear Lake is a unique place. I don't know what types of invertibrates are found there. But my first guess is the differences you are seeing would be mostly due to diet.

Another difference would just simply be individual characteristics. Just like you and me, we're each a little bit different.
[signature]