Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ice Fishing Info, New to Area
Hello everyone,

I'm new to BFT and have enjoyed the conversations so far. I will be moving to Southern Idaho next month and have some questions about ice fishing in the area. I will be in the Twin Falls area. I was just curious if anyone has favorite bodies of water to ice fish for perch, crappie, trout, walleye, and kokanee. You don't have to share exact spots if you don't want to, but a point in the general direction for certain species would be nice, again, as it pertains to ice fishing. Thanks in advance!
[signature]
Welcome to BFT.
You are kind of in the middle of Southern Idaho. I don't fish the area much but there are times when Magic has been good for rainbows and perch. CJ Strike can be fun if it freezes. I've never fished Salmon Falls Creek Res. but I've heard good things if it freezes properly.

I like Mackay and Ririe for Kokanee both are long drives.

I am sure locals will be more helpful.

Windriver
[signature]
Thanks Windriver,

I appreciate the heads up, thank you. How is Mackay for the Kokes (winter or summer)? Also, your post made it seem like things don't always freeze up around Twin Falls, I know we've had some weird weather in the past two years, but is it really a toss up if things freeze in that area?
[signature]
Won't get much ice til mid December
Then it stays til march
Salmon falls creek res is closest
Then there's Oakley, Walcott, Magic, CJ, Dog Creek, Dierkies, Stone, Emerald and we even fished Milner last year.
Until we get safe ice there's lots of good fall fishing and the river never freezes.
[signature]
Thanks dtayboyz,

I appreciate the info about which reservoirs would be worth looking at and ice timelines. Would you or anyone be willing to share which species you target at each reservoir? You don't have to name particular spots or lures, but it would be nice to know which body of water is worth targeting a certain species in.