Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
utah lake ice? and whitebass ?s
How Dee
I used to go by Giovanni on The fishing general . But this is the new me.
I would love to have any information on any ice forming on Utah Lake, and If any white bass are being caught.
I am going to try Echo tomorrow morning. and will let ya know how it went. Good fishing with tight lines. WBestF

I have been Drawing a cartoon of the WBestF for the last 8 years. he loves fishing, and teaching the love of fishing to children or any one else. Its interesting ,( But he is my brain trust and I am prejudice) . I am going to try and get something every one can see, soon I hope. From the time he became TWestF to now.

Have a Safe and grate New Years.
[signature]
The problem is not ice, the lake is capped, but there is no water !! You have to walk several miles to get into 3-4 ft of water. Most of us expect a major winterkill at Utah lake this winter.

We have speculated all summer that the water users, the Fish and Wildlife Service and the June sucker guys withheld water this summer so the the level would drop super low, so that there would be a winter kill of carp, although everything else would die off also. Who knows. You have to wonder.

Go find another pond to fish this winter and hope that we get enough water to fill it up again !!!
Well if that's what their plan is then I doubt that's gonna work. I remember learning from Tube Dude's history that Utah Lake has actually been even lower than it is right now averaging like foot deep. During that time frame pretty much all species of native fish were wiped out including bonneville cutthroats and such but a few june suckers, utah suckers and lots of carp obviously made it through that winter so I highly doubt that plan will work.
[signature]